Microsoft introduced the Recycle Bin in its current form with Windows 95. However, having a location to delete and store deleted messages was originally introduced around 1982 by Apple. Both iterations allowed a computer to store deleted files and folders for a while.
In its current state, the Recycle Bin needs a little bit of maintenance from time to time. When you delete something from your computer, it goes to the Recycle Bin and will no longer show up as an active file or folder.
However, the data is still accessible if anyone wanted to retrieve it, and it is still taking up hard drive space on your computer. It is important to remember to “empty” the Recycle Bin frequently, especially if you are working with confidential data or if space is limited on your machine.
Emptying the Recycle Bin is as easy as right-clicking the Recycle Bin icon and selecting “Empty Recycle Bin.”
To provide feedback or submit a technical topic/question you’d like to see addressed, please send e-mails to email@example.com