CDL Program

Published: 1/17/2014 1:10 PM

 

All school bus drivers must possess a valid Commercial Driver's License (CDL) with a Kentucky school bus endorsement to transport pupils.
 
IMPORTANT UPDATE!
 
PHYSICALS
 
All Kentucky school bus drivers are required to obtain an annual physical from a district designated physician, physician’s assistant, or an advanced registered nurse practitioner. Please also keep in mind that Kentucky state law (SB 114 as passed by the 2013 General Assembly) amended the state CDL school bus endorsement requirement (KRS 281A.175) to include chiropractors in the definition of “medical examiner" consistent with federal law.
 
The new National Registry of Medical Examiners does not apply to school bus drivers if they are self-certified as “excepted” whether interstate or intrastate. If drivers are self-certified in another category, they will need to complete a new self-certification form and send to KYDOT.

A school bus driver would fall under the “excepted interstate commerce” or “excepted intrastate commerce” depending on whether or not they go out of state. The requirement for the National Registry Medical Certification would be for non-excepted interstate drivers.
 
SELF CERTIFICATION
Kentucky has been requiring drivers to self-certify for nearly two years and bus drivers should choose “excepted interstate commerce” in most cases. Drivers who use their CDL for other commercial purposes may need to make a different selection.

DOT PHYSICAL CARD UPDATE
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration announced January 10, 2014, that commercial drivers must continue to carry paper copies of their medical certifications until January 30, 2015. Bus drivers must still self-certify by January 30, 2014.
 
CDL License & Medical Card Information

KDE suggests that districts use the following steps to expedite this process:

  1. Start the license renewal and/or medical certification process at least 30 days before going to obtain or renew license/permit and/or at least 30 days before a physical expires.
  2. Visit a physician for a physical and obtain the medical certification card.
  3. Send a legible copy of the front and back of the completed medical card to the Division of Driver Licensing using one of the following methods (include your address/phone number/email address for notice of approval):

Mail: 200 Mero St., Frankfort, KY 40622
Fax: 502-696-3932
Scan and Email: KYTC.CDLSCHOOLBUS@KY.gov

All CDL holders/applicants will receive written notification via regular mail or email after their medical card has been received and processed by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, Division of Driver Licensing. Email may be printed out to serve as written notification. Upon receipt of written notification from the Division of Driver Licensing the school bus driver must take the written notification to the license issuing office in their county to obtain their license/permit or renew their existing license/permit.

 John Wyatt 
Office of Administration and Support
Division of District Support
500 Mero Street, 15th Floor CPT
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-5279
Fax (502) 564-6771