Published: 5/25/2016 11:24 AM

This page consists of scholarships and contests for Pupil Transportation in Kentucky.​​


2016 State School Bus Safety Poster Contest- Deadline Passed

All elementary, middle school and Division 4 and 5 high school students are invited to submit posters for the 2016 State School Bus Safety Poster Contest based on the theme,"# STOP ON RED!" Posters should be submitted to the local selection committee established in each school system or district. That committee will then submit no more than one poster for each category to be judged at the state level. The finalist entries must be postmarked and submitted to the state committee no later than May 1. The state winners in each category will move on to the national contest sponsored by the National Association for Pupil Transportation. More information and the rules for submissions may be found here. Students should not submit their work to the state. Posters will not be returned.
The Southeastern States Pupil Transportation Conference (SESPTC) is making a one-time $2,500 scholarship available to one student in each of its 14-member southeastern states, including Kentucky. Students eligible for the Buster Bynum Education Scholarship must be a high school senior, have a parent or guardian employed in the public school pupil transportation field for at least the past three years (since January 1, 2013) and be planning to attend a postsecondary educational institution in 2016. Completed applications should be submitted to the local district’s Supervisor/Director of Transportation or the local district’s scholarship selection committee chairperson. Each school system will select a local winner and submit the winning application to the State SESPTC Selection Committee no later than May 15th, 2016. Additional requirements, information and an application may be found here.

This $1,000 education scholarship award will be awarded to four (4) students entering college each school year. Applicants must be a public school student who will attend a certified college, university, or technical school. The scholarship award is made directly to the postsecondary school selected by the awarded student and must be used in support of the student's 2016-17 school year tuition, books or fees.

Elisa Hanley
Office of Finance and Operations
Division of District Support
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-5279
Fax (502) 564-6771