“Raising the Compulsory
Attendance Age in Kentucky”
Kentucky Senate Bill 97, raising the compulsory attendance age to 18, was passed by Kentucky General Assembly Spring of 2013 session.
According the Senate Bill 97, adoption of this policy was voluntary until 55% (96) districts adopt the policy. Once the 55% is reached, the statute mandates all districts adopt this policy within 2 years. Kentucky reached and exceeded our goal of 55% in July of 2013.
$10,000 planning & implementation grants were made available for the first 96 Kentucky school districts adopting this policy during the 2013-14 school year. Grants were also made available to the next 53 districts to adopt at the beginning of the 2014-15 school year. Additional grant money will be made available to the remaining districts adopting before December 31, 2014.
Process for receiving grant money:Step 1
– Districts must show passage of policy. This will include uploading policy and
into ASSIST.Step 2
– Districts must complete the certification documentation with superintendent and board chair signatures. Step 3
– Districts will complete Compulsory Attendance assurances for
implementation within ASSIST. This includes uploading policy and certification.Step 4
– Email request to Commissioner’s office using the following email:SB97@education.ky.gov
Email will state steps 1 and 2 have been completed.
Step 5 – KDE review team will review policy and assurances for certification in accordance with SB 97 Section 1 (b) 4.
Questions about this grant or grant process should be directed to Tom Edgett
Frequently Asked Questions (Attached)
Certification Document (attached)
Take out Project Code line. Now included on FAQ
the Compulsory Attendance Age in Kentucky
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the process for applying for the $10,000 planning grants?
Step 1 – Passage of Policy
Step 2 – ASSIST
Assurances: Districts will “sign off” on assurances for implementation, thru ASSIST
Step 3 – Uploading of documents into ASSIST - Technical guides on website
Copy of new policy with appropriate signatures uploaded into ASSIST.
Copy of the certification document with signatures uploaded into ASSIST.
– Email request to Commissioner’s office
Districts will send email to SB97@education.ky.gov
Email will indicate steps 1 and 2 have been completed.
Step 5 – KDE review
KDE will review policy and assurances for certification in accordance with SB 97 Section 1 (b) 4.
How can I get technical assistance
How can our district
be eligible to receive the planning grant?
Following the steps listed above
How can the grant
money be spent?
As a condition of receipt of $10,000 planning grants to
implement SB 97 (raising the compulsory attendance age to 18), districts
receiving funding were required to send an application and assurances
(attached) to KDE. In the application, the board certified that:
· the funds would be used in compliance with KRS
158.146 (4) and 703 KAR 7:070 requirements for providing services to prevent
students from dropping out (such as identification, counseling, home
visitations, parental training, tutoring, extra instructional support,
alternative programming and other appropriate strategies)
· the dropout prevention programs would be
evaluated using criteria provided in the application, and
· prior to implementation, the district’s programs
meet evaluation criteria
How do we code
expenditures in MUNIS?
The code for SB97 planning grants is 12LA
What if we have
questions about the spending grants, grant process or SB97? Contact Tom Edgett at KDE:
to view or print larger map