Priority Schools/Educational Recovery

Published: 8/24/2016 2:33 PM

​District 180 is an organizational unit at the Kentucky Department of Education that provides support to low achieving schools through the use of education recovery staff.  The mission of District 180 is to build sustainable systems that will drive a continuous improvement approach to focus on student learning in each of Kentucky's Priority Schools. The vision of District 180 is that all students in Kentucky are College and Career Ready upon graduation from high school.​

District 180 Infographic

​As a condition of the Elementary & Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Flexibility Waiver, the Kentucky Department of Education has identified Priority and Focus schools as referenced in 703 KAR 5:225.

Kentucky currently serves 27 Priority Schools. Under NCLB guidelines, these schools were identified as Persistently Low Achieving Schools. The NCLB waiver for Kentucky creates a clearly defined system. It also provides a more focused approach for school improvement in Kentucky that will allow our priority schools to persistently look ahead on the road to improving student learning. In some specific cases, an Advisory Council will be appointed to provide support to the school's leadership. 

Click here to see how support is provided.
Continuous Improvement Summit Registration Now Open
Registration is now open for the 4th Annual Kentucky Continuous Improvement Summit: “Equity, Achievement, and Integrity” that will be held September 19-20 at the Lexington Convention Center. Best practices from across the state will be highlighted and presented by Kentucky teachers and administrators. Participants will receive information concerning ESSA, Accountability, and Novice Reduction. Click here for the flyer that describes the summit. 
Click on the following link to register: Continuous Improvement Summit Registration #KYCIS2016.
Kelly Foster
Office of Continuous Improvement and Support
500 Mero Street, 8th Floor CPT
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-5130
Fax (502) 564-8149