
Kentucky
WORK-BASED LEARNING 

FAQFAQ

For more information, check out the Kentucky Department of Education’s Work-Based Learning Manual.

Q: What is the eligibility criteria for cooperative 
education (often known as “co-op”)? 
A: Section 2(3) of Kentucky Administrative Regulation 705 KAR 4:041 
(Work-Based Learning Program Standards) establishes the eligibility 
criteria for cooperative education placements. 

Q: What is the difference between a short and 
long-term work-based learning placement? 
A: Short-term placements are defined as an academic semester 
(18 weeks) or less; whereas, a long-term placement is defined as an 
academic semester or longer. 

Q: How do I know if an internship is required to 
be a paid experience for the student? 
A: The key to knowing if a student must be paid for an internship 
placement is by identifying whether the placement creates an 
“employer-employee relationship.” For more information, visit 
Kentucky’s Work-Based Learning Manual and Kentucky Administrative 
Regulation 803 KAR 1:006, specifically Section 5(2). 

Q: Are there limitations on the number of 
instructional hours per day that a student may work? 
A: Kentucky’s child labor laws for students between the ages of 14-18. 

Q: What course code(s) should be utilized for 
non-CTE work-based learning experiences? 
A: Course Code 901005 (Work Experience) should be used within 
Infinite Campus for the transcription of all non-CTE work-based learning 
credits. As a reminder, this course may only count toward one of the five 
credits required for a KEES GPA calculation pursuant to 11 KAR 15:090. 

Q: Are there exemptions to the Child Labor Laws 
for students enrolled in approved Career and 
Technical Education (CTE) pathways? 
A: The United States Department of Labor provides an overview of the 
child labor provisions for nonagricultural occupations. Specifically, 
pages 24-25 provide for the limited exemptions for 16- and 17-year-
olds, so long as they are a bona-fide student learner or apprentice.  

Q: How many credits may I award a student for a 
work-based learning placement? 
A: Site Based Decision Making (SBDM) Councils have the authority to 
determine the number of credits to award for a particular course based 
on the number of instructional hours per day that the course occurs or 
via their district’s performance/competency-based policies. Districts 
should be advised that policies related to Kentucky Educational 
Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards administered by the Kentucky 
Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA) are impacted by 
such SBDM decisions. Pursuant to KRS 164.7874 and Kentucky 
Administrative Regulation 11 KAR 15:090, a student must complete 
the KEES curriculum, which consists of a minimum of five courses of 
study, in order to be eligible for a KEES GPA calculation. For the co-op 
credits that are aligned to a CTE pathway and approved by the KDE 
OCTE, the course may count credit-for-credit, in terms of the KEES 
GPA calculation. For all other work-based learning credits (internships, 
shadowing, mentoring, etc.), including non-CTE aligned co-ops, the 
course may only count toward one of the five credits required for a KEES 
GPA calculation. 

https://education.ky.gov/CTE/cter/Documents/Work-Based_Learning_Manual.pdf
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/705/004/041/
https://education.ky.gov/CTE/cter/Documents/Work-Based_Learning_Manual.pdf
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/803/001/006/11129/
https://labor.ky.gov/Documents/KY%20Child%20Labor%20Poster%20English.pdf
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/011/015/090/
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/childlabor101.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/childlabor101.pdf
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=50246
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/titles/011/015/090/

