

#### **Sharon Porter Robinson**

Supreme Court District 4 Chair

#### Lu Young

Supreme Court District 5 Vice Chair

#### JoAnn Adams

Supreme Court District 6

#### Holly Bloodworth

Supreme Court District 1

## Jamie Bowling

Supreme Court District 3

#### Patrice McCrary

Supreme Court District 2

#### Julie Pile

At Large

#### Randy Poe

At Large

#### Lee Todd

At Large

#### Steve Trimble

Supreme Court District 7

#### **Diane Woods**

At Large

## **Ex-Officio Members**

#### Jamie Link

Secretary, Education and Labor Cabinet

## **Aaron Thompson**

President, Council on Postsecondary Education

## **Non-Voting Members**

## Alissa Riley

Teacher

### R.J. Osborne

Student

## RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

# Commissioner Jason E. Glass, Ed.D.

for his service to public education in the Commonwealth.

WHEREAS, Dr. Jason Glass has served as Kentucky's Commissioner of Education since August 2020 with an unwavering commitment to ensuring that equity and high-quality professional practice are at the forefront of all considerations; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Glass has provided exemplary leadership and fostered a culture of trust within the Kentucky Department of Education inspiring others to be the best version of themselves; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Glass responded to the crisis of COVID-19 and two natural disasters with a depth of wisdom and compassion while providing critical communications and decisive policy action; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Glass has maintained a steadfast dedication to deeper learning experiences, opportunity, and authentic assessment for every student in the commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Glass facilitated the development of United We Learn, Kentucky's bold vision for the future of teaching and learning, through his willingness to listen and collaborate with diverse stakeholders to ensure that this effort is collectively owned and fully supported by many; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Glass produced rich and substantive responses to address the Kentucky Board of Education's charge to transform assessment and accountability and advance toward a more equitable educational experience.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Kentucky Board of Education does hereby adopt this resolution September 14, 2023, expressing its sincerest gratitude and appreciation for the dedication and efforts of Commissioner Glass and wishes him all the very best in his next role as he continues his life-long career in education leadership.

Sharon Robinson, Ed.D. KBE Chair Lu Young, Ed.D. KBE Vice Chair