

DIRECTOR OF SPECIAL EDUCATION ADVISORY GROUP

Kentucky Department of Education Meeting to be held virtually via <u>Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal</u> May 26, 2021 9:00-11:00 am EST

Purpose: The Director of Special Education (DoSE) Advisory Group was created to advise the Office of Special Education and Early Learning (OSEEL) on issues relevant to special education. The DoSE Advisory Group consists of 9 members who each represent a Special Education Cooperative region of Kentucky. The members of this group provide valuable feedback and engage with Kentucky school districts to provide support for special education. The advisory group members meet with the OSEEL staff, both in person and virtually, to discuss needs in the area of special education support provided in Kentucky school districts. The members provide feedback on critical issues that align with the OSEEL priorities and this feedback is used to help shape the guidance and support being provided by the OSEEL staff.

AGENDA

I. Roll Call of Members Kim Chevalier, Chair

Jefferson County Public Schools
II. Review and Approval of Minutes from Last Meeting

Kim Chevalier, Chair Jefferson County Public Schools

III. Welcome

Gretta Hylton, Associate Commissioner Office of Special Education and Early Learning

IV. Mathematics Outcomes for Students with Disabilities

Veronica Sullivan, Director Amanda Waldroup, Assistant Director Division of IDEA Implementation and Preschool *Guiding Question:* How do we improve mathematics outcomes for students with disabilities?

V. Mathematics Data Visualizations

Amy Patterson, IDEA Part B Data Manager Office of Special Education and Early Learning *Guiding Question:* What are the best ways to present data to the field to make them notice and take follow up action for improvement?

VI. Special Education Needs and Follow Up

OSEEL Staff Guiding Question: What are the main areas or issues that need to be addressed in preparation for next school year?

VII. Advisory Group Open Discussion

Kim Chevalier, Chair Jefferson County Public Schools

VIII. Adjournment

Next Meeting: August 18, 2021 (1-3)