Commissioner’s Accountability Steering Committee

Published: 6/13/2017 6:20 PM

Purpose: The committee will advise and make recommendations to Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt on Kentucky’s new education accountability system.

The state is considering changes to the current accountability system as allowed under ESSA, the new, main federal law governing public education. The current timeline calls for the new system to be in place for the 2017-18 school year.

More information on ESSA and Kentucky’s accountability efforts may be found on the ESSA page of the Kentucky Department of Education website.

Membership: Superintendents, principals, teachers, higher education representatives, elected officials and representatives from education shareholder and community outreach groups in the state. ​

Commissioner's Accountability Work Groups

The Commissioner’s Accountability Steering Committee is broken into Accountability Work Groups.

The groups will begin work on the design of various elements of a new school accountability system under the
Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) – the new federal law governing public education. Each group will focus on a specific area of the system. More information on the Accountability Work Groups can be found here. ​​

Rhonda Sims
Office of Assessment and Accountability
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-2256
Fax (502) 564-7749