Charter Schools

Charter Schools

Published: 4/5/2019 2:37 PM


The 2017 Regular Session of the General Assembly approved HB 520, legislation that for the first time allows charter schools in Kentucky. Gov. Matt Bevin signed the bill March 21, 2017. It became effective at the end of June 2017. A link to the laws establishing charter schools and outlining funding provisions can be found in the right column on this page.

The administrative regulations and their documents incorporated by reference on this page became law on March 9, 2018. The Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) is publishing the regulations and their documents on this page to provide easy access to the public. The official version of regulations of the Kentucky Board of Education and those still in the review process, can be found at the Legislative Research Commission's website at:   Scroll down to Title 701 for charter school regulations.


​Kelly Foster
Office of Continuous Improvement and Support
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-5130 Ext. 4001
Fax (502) 564-8149
  • Normal Font Size