Pursuant to Senate Bill 1, 2021 Extraordinary Session, districts are required to submit their current COVID-19 School Operations Plan and any subsequent drafts to KDE for informational purposes.
Districts may submit their plans to KDE using this form.

Awards and Recognition Programs

Awards and Recognition Programs

Published: 8/31/2022 11:47 AM


The Kentucky Department of Education oversees several annual awards and recognition programs that honor exceptional teachers, students and schools in the state.

Educator Recognitions

  • Kentucky Teacher of the Year and Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards: The Teacher Achievement Awards recognize 24 outstanding teachers in the Commonwealth, culminating in the presentation of the distinguished Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award. Kentucky public school teachers with at least three years of service are eligible. Nominations open in November.
  • Milken Educator Awards Program: The Milken Educator Awards honor top educators around the country for their achievements and for the promise of what they will accomplish in the future. Each Milken Educator receives an unrestricted award of $25,000. Candidates are chosen through a confidential selection process and are reviewed by a panel appointed by the Kentucky Department of Education. More details about the award's history, goals and recipients are available at the Milken Family Foundation website.

Student Recognitions

  • U.S. Senate Youth Program: Two student delegates are selected to represent Kentucky during the U.S. Senate Youth Program's (USSYP) Washington Week. Delegates also receive a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study from The Hearst Foundations. This program is open to outstanding Kentucky high school juniors and seniors. View the USSYP program brochure for more details and qualifications.

School Recognition

  • National Blue Ribbon Schools: The Kentucky Department of Education nominates public schools for the National Blue Ribbon Schools program based on their overall academic excellence or their progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. A list of past Kentucky winners is available on the National Blue Ribbon Schools website.


GlyptusAnn ​Jones
Office of the Commissioner
Division of Communications 
300 Sower Boulevard
(502) 564-2000 ext. 4616


  • Normal Font Size