
 

 

Kindergarten Entry Age Changed for 
2017-18 School Year 

There is a new cutof date starting next school year to enroll your 
child in kindergarten. Beginning with the 2017-18 school year, 
children must be 5 years old as of August 1 to enroll kindergarten in 
a Kentucky public school. 

When was this change announced? 
The law that changed the birthday cutof date from October 1 to 
August 1 passed in 2012. 

Will students who don’t meet the new August 1 
cutof be allowed to start kindergarten? 
Your school district can grant a waiver for children to start 
kindergarten who are not yet 5 years old as of August 1. You 
will need to contact your local school district ofice for more 
information. School districts may test children to see if they are 
ready before they enroll them. 

Can the district charge tuition for early entry 
students? 
Yes, but the amount of tuition cannot exceed the amount of tuition 
it charges students who are age-eligible to start kindergarten. For 
example, if student is a non-resident and does not pay tuition, then 
the district cannot charge tuition for an early entry-student. The 
district may not charge tuition to any student who is eligible for 
free/reduced-price meals. 

What if my child has been enrolled in kindergarten 
already in another state?  
You should contact the school district ofice and provide the 
paperwork to show the prior enrollment in kindergarten. Once the 
paperwork has been verified, the school will enroll the child 
in kindergarten. 

Where do I go if I have questions? 
Questions regarding kindergarten enrollment, early entry waivers 
and other issues regarding school registration should be directed to 
your school district ofice. Additional information is available on the 
Kentucky Department of Education’s website: 
http://bit.ly/EarlyEntranceKindergarten 
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