

Social Studies Standards Advisory Panel (AP) and Review Committee (RC) Meeting

Date: Wednesday, April 30, 2025 Time: 9:05 a.m. ET, 8:05 a.m. CT

Location: Historic Boone Tavern, Boone Event Center.

Meeting Purpose:	Review and revision of <i>Kentucky Academic Standards</i> in accordance with Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS) 158.6453.	
Meeting Called:	9:05 a.m. ET, 8:05 a.m. CT	
Next Meeting:	TBD	

Attendees:

Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) staff: Chrystal Rowland, Thomas Clouse, Lauren Gallicchio, Heather Ransom

American Institutes for Research (AIR) staff: Beth Ratway, Kimberly Imel, Lina Gleizer, Hannah Kim

Advisory Panel (AP): Isabella Wesson, Kay Staebler, Sarah Wallace, Jennifer Chandler, Harmony Hendrick, Seth Martin, Rachel Kramer, Amanda Weyhing, Kelsey Gilvin, Dustin Winchester, Amy Nemon, Ken Spradlin, Samantha Marcoux, Nicole Clements, Christy Cartner, Olivia Bouldin, Ryan Lewis, Stephanie Mobley, Amanda Geiger, Sarah McIntosh

Review Committee (RC): Steven Bauer, Malana Salyer, Anita Harper, Kimberly Stevenson, Trevor Smith, Vincent Tinker, Tayler Knight, Kim Sergent

Public Observers: None

Time	Focus	Lead	Discussion
9:05 a.m. ET	Call to Order	Kimberly Imel	Call to Order, Roll Call and Approval of Agenda
			Meeting Called to Order at 9:05 AM by Trevor Smith. Second by Steven Bauer.
			Approval of Agenda: Motion: Malana Salyer Second: Anita Harper Committee members voted to approve the agenda.
9:10 a.m. ET	Day 2 Reflection	Chrystal Rowland and Kimberly Imel	KDE briefly discussed the future timeline.

Time	Focus	Lead	Discussion
			 AIR presented the results of the reflection activity from the previous meeting.
9:20 a.m. ET	Standards Revision Group Breakout: Voting on Recommendations	AIR	 The AP continued working as a group to address their grade band standards. The RC continued voting on revisions from the AP.
12:00 p.m. ET	Lunch	N/A	The work group took a lunch break.
1:00 p.m. ET	Standards Revision Group Breakout: Voting on Recommendations	AIR	 The AP continued working as a group to address their grade band standards. The RC voted on any revisions to the standards from the AP. AP Motion for Remaining Standards Enter Motion: Nicole Clements First: Seth Martin Second: Samantha Marcoux The AP approved keeping the remaining standards that were not identified for revision from the public feedback survey data as-is. RC Motion for Remaining Standards Enter Motion: Trevor Smith First: Kimberly Stevenson Second: Steve Bauer The RC voted to approve the remaining standards that are kept as-is.
4:10 p.m. ET	Debrief and Wrap Up	Chrystal Rowland, Thomas Clouse and Kimberly Imel	 KDE shared logistical information and next steps in the standards revision process and reimbursements. Adjournment Motion: Ken Spradlin First: Malana Salyer Second: Taylor Knight Meeting Adjourned at 4:20 p.m. ET