Alternative Programs of Distinction

Published: 6/9/2017 3:18 PM

In an effort to recognize the work of educators and programs that serve at-risk students, the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) has named 11 Alternative Programs of Distinction for 2017. 
An alternative education program exists to meet the needs of students that cannot be addressed in a traditional classroom setting, but can be met through the assignment of students to alternative classrooms, centers or campuses that are designed to remediate academic performance, improve behavior or provide enhanced learning experiences. Alternative education programs do not include career or technical centers or departments.
The 11 programs named as Alternative Programs of Distinction for 2017 are:
·      Bullitt Alternative Center, Bullitt County
·      Covington Alternative Programs, Covington Independent
·      Heritage Park High School, Daviess County
·      The Learning Center, Fayette County
·         McCracken Regional School, McCracken County
·         The McDaniel Learning Center, Laurel County
·      Perry County Alternative School, Perry County
·      The Providence School, Jessamine County
·      Ramey-Estep High School, Boyd County
·         Regional School Programs, Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services, Dayton Independent
·         Western Day Treatment, Jefferson County
Each program selected as an Alternative Program of Distinction receives $2,000 from KDE and $1,000 from the Kentucky Center for School Safety for instructional support.
Sherri Clusky
Office of Continuous Improvement and Support
Division of Student Success
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-4772
Fax (502) 564-7820