Kentucky Board of Education Awards Committee Meeting December 1, 2020 10:30 a.m. ET Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, KY 40601 Video Teleconference Meeting

Minutes

The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held an awards committee meeting on December 1, 2020. Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-243 and a memorandum issued by the Finance and Administration Cabinet dated March 16, 2020, and in an effort to prevent the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), the KBE awards committee met utilizing a video teleconference. Members of the public were not be permitted to attend the meeting in person, but were encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The board conducted the following business:

1. Call to Order

Committee Chair Patrice McCrary welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. ET. Chair McCrary reminded members that the meeting still must comply with the requirements of the Open Meeting Act. Additionally, Chair McCrary stated that for any items that required a vote, a roll call vote was necessary to record the vote of each board member.

2. Roll Call

Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: Claire Batt, Patrice McCrary and Lu Young.

KBE Executive Secretary Joette Fields stated a quorum was present.

3. 2020 Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award

A. Review of Criteria for the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Award Winner

Chair McCrary reminded the committee members that the priority award topic changes year to year based on the desire of the board and that the topic and its corresponding criteria were approved at the October KBE meeting. Chair McCrary stated the 2020 award seeks to recognize a person, group organization, district, school or postsecondary institution who, through policy, practice, fundraising or philanthropy, and despite any challenges has made it a top priority to provide for the well-being of Kentucky's students and to provide them with high quality educational experiences.

Chair McCrary read the description and reminded the committee members of the criteria of the award that include:

- Significant contributions that lead to improving or sustaining food service delivery, internet availability, innovative technology-based instruction, and/or other efforts to support the needs of schools, students, families and/or community members;
- Demonstrated leadership in measured efforts to meet the academic, social or emotional needs of students during the time of a pandemic.

B. Review and Discussion of Applications for the 2020 Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award

Committee members were asked by Chair McCrary to present their top three candidates in consideration of discussion. Candidates were referred to by number and the members narrowed their top picks down to two candidates and after evaluation and discussion determined that two candidates would be brought forth for consideration of approval by the full board at its December 2, 2020 regular meeting.

C. Approve Recommendation of an Individual(s) as the recipient of the 2020 Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award

Chair McCrary stated that based on these candidates contributions or leadership to meet the needs of students during the time of a pandemic, she would like to entertain a motion to approve candidates #7 and #5 as the award winners for the 2020 Award. Claire Batt made the motion to approve candidates #7 and #5 as the recipients of the 2020 Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award. Lu Young seconded the motion and the motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

4. Adjournment

Lu Young motioned to adjourn the meeting, Claire Batt seconded the motion and it was approved by a unanimous roll call vote.

The meeting adjourned at 10:52 a.m. ET.