Kentucky Board of Education Special Meeting May 7, 2020 9:00 AM Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, KY 40601 Video Teleconference Meeting

Minutes

The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held a special meeting on May 7, 2020. Pursuant to Executive Order 2020-243 and a memorandum issued by the Finance and Administration Cabinet dated March 16, 2020, and in an effort to prevent the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), the KBE met utilizing a video teleconference. Members of the public were not be permitted to attend the meeting in person, but were encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The board conducted the following business:

I. Call to Order

Chair Young welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. ET. Chair Young reminded members that the meeting still must comply with the requirements of the Open Meeting Act. Additionally, Chair Young stated that for any items that required a vote, a roll call vote was necessary to record the vote of each board member.

II. Roll Call

Chair Young asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: JoAnn Adams, Claire Batt, Holly Bloodworth, Mike Bowling, Alvis Johnson, Patrice McCrary, Cody Pauley Johnson, Sharon Porter Robinson, Lee Todd, Lu Young, Lt. Governor Jacqueline Coleman, Council on Postsecondary Education (CPE) President Dr. Aaron Thompson and Allison Slone.

KBE Executive Director Jennifer Fraker stated a quorum was present.

III. Internal Board Business

A. Overview of the Commissioner Search Process from Greenwood/Asher & Associates (Review Item)

Betty Asher, Susanne Griffin and Ann Bailey provided members with an update on work the firm had done regarding the commissioner search to date. The group presented the KBE members with the application and nomination process and shared an ad they would use as part of the nationwide search. Greenwood/Asher and Associates also provided the members with a tentative timeline for the search and allowed the members to ask questions regarding the process.

IV. Action to Waive Certain Board of Education Regulatory Requirements in Response to COVID-19 Emergency (Action/Discussion Item)

KDE Interim General Counsel Todd G. Allen, KDE Associate Commissioner Kelly Foster and KDE Associate Commissioner Amanda Ellis presented information on KBE administrative regulations the Commissioner recommended be waived for the remainder of the 2019-2020 fiscal year as a result of school closures: 704 KAR 7:160, section 6(3)(c), Use of physical restraint and seclusion in public schools and 704 KAR 3:305, section 3(4)(h), minimum graduation requirements.

Alvis Johnson made a motion to conditionally waive the regulatory requirements of Section 3 (4)(h) of 704 KAR 3:305 for 12th grade students, as of March 6, 2020, enrolled in credit recovery or another alternative credit program, with the waiver expiring on June 30, 2020 and to conditionally approve the same waiver to any other district if requested by letter to the Interim Commissioner of Education in response to the COVID-19 emergency. Patrice McCrary seconded the motion and the motion passed by unanimous roll call vote.

JoAnn Adams made a motion to waive the regulatory requirements of Section 3(4)(h) of 704 KAR 3:305, Minimum Requirements for High School Graduation for the Fayette and Jessamine County School Districts for the 2019-2020 school year and also to waive the requirements of Section 6(3)(c) of 704 KAR 7:160 for all school districts for the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years in response to the COVID-19 school closures. Sharon Porter Robinson seconded the motion and the motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

V. Coronavirus Discussion on PreK-12 Implications and Next Steps (Review Item)

KDE Chief Performance Officer Karen Dodd, KDE Interim Director of Communications Toni Konz Tatman, KDE Associate Commissioner Robin Kinney and KDE Division Director Charles Harman provided updates on the budget impacts and implications of COVID-19.

VI. Adjournment

Holly Bloodworth motioned to adjourn the meeting, Patrice McCrary seconded the motion and it was approved by a unanimous roll call vote.

The meeting adjourned at 12:07 p.m. ET.