Title VI, Part B - Rural Education Achievement Program (REAP)

Published: 10/29/2015 11:03 AM

​The Rural Education Achievement Program (REAP) is designed to assist rural school districts in using federal resources more effectively to improve the quality of instruction and student academic achievement.

​REAP is divided into two sections: Small Rural School Achievement (SRSA) Program and Rural Low-Income Schools (RLIS) Program.

Small Rural School Achievement (SRSA) Program
To qualify for SRSA, a school district must have an average daily attendance of less than 600 students and only serve schools with a locale code of 7 or 8 as assigned by the USED's National Center for Education Statistics.

Rural Low-Income Schools (RLIS) Program
To qualify for RLIS, the school district must have twenty percent (20%) or more of the children ages 5 to 17 served by the school district from families with incomes below the poverty line as determined by the USED's census data, all schools served must have a locale code of 6, 7, or 8, and the school district does not qualify for SRSA.

Vicki Fosbender
Office of Next-Generation Schools and Districts
Division of Consolidated Plans and Audits
500 Mero Street, 8th Floor CPT
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-3791
Fax (502) 564-8149