Pursuant to Senate Bill 1, 2021 Extraordinary Session, districts are required to submit their current COVID-19 School Operations Plan and any subsequent drafts to KDE for informational purposes.
Districts may submit their plans to KDE using this form.

Teacher of the Year

Kentucky Teacher of the Year

Published: 9/30/2022 12:13 AM

​​​​The Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards program recognizes 24 outstanding teachers in the Commonwealth, culminating in the presentation of the distinguished Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award. Kentucky public school teachers with at least three years of service are eligible. Nominations open in November.​

2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Winners

                                                                Mandy Perez
            2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year and Middle School Teacher of the Year​
                         Crittenden County Middle School (Crittenden County)

                                                         ​​​​Kelly Gates
                                       2023 Kentucky ElementarySchool 
                                                    Teacher of the Year 
                                       Pride Elementary (Hopkin County)

                                                          Amber Sergent
                                  2023 Kentucky High School Teacher of the Year

GlyptusAnn ​Jones
Office of the Commissioner
Division of Communications 
300 Sower Boulevard
(502) 564-2000 ext. 4616



Nominate a Teacher

Nominations for the 2024 Kentucky Teacher of the Year award will open Nov. 1, 2022.​

  • Normal Font Size