Focus Schools and Focus Districts

Published: 8/23/2017 2:24 PM

As a condition of the Elementary & Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Flexibility Waiver, the Kentucky Department of Education has identified Priority and Focus schools as referenced in 703 KAR 5:225. Focus Schools have low performing gap-groups. These schools have a non-duplicated student gap group score in the bottom ten percent of non-duplicated gap group scores for all elementary, middle and high schools; Schools with an individual student subgroup by level that falls in the bottom five percent for individual subjects; High Schools that have a graduation rate that has been less than eighty percent for two consecutive years. 

​​​​​​2017-18 Continuous Improvement Summit
September 18-19, 2017
Co-hosted by the Kentucky Department of Education and AdvancED
Lexington Convention Center, 430 W. Vine Street
Lexington, KY
Join the journey! #KYCIS2017
Register Here

About District 180

District 180 is an organizational unit in the Office of Continuous Improvement and Support. The mission of District 180 is to build sustainable systems that will drive a continuous improvement approach to focus on student learning in each of Kentucky’s Priority Schools, Focus Schools, and Focus Districts.
The vision of District 180 is for all students in Kentucky to be College and Career Ready upon graduating from high school. District 180 is committed to providing support and technical assistance to our schools and always welcomes feedback to improve our systems of support.

Support for Continuous Improvement

We invite you to visit a Hub School

We invite you to connect with a Hub School. Come hear and see shared best and promising practices. The Kentucky Hub Schools are East-Carter High School, Pulaski County High School and Franklin-Simpson High School.                                                               

Hub School Contacts:

Comprehensive School/District Improvement Plans

CDIPs and CSIPs are due to KDE 90 days after public release of data, however the planning and the implementation of the plan is an on-going continuous improvement process. 
Tools for Building Effective CSIP/CDIP Components:

District 180 Guiding Documents

Thalia Salgado
Office of Continuous Improvement and Support
Division of Consolidated Plans and Audits
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-2116
Fax (502) 564-7820