Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information

Learn what precautions you can take about the coronavirus.

Call the KY Department for Public Health’s COVID-19 hotline at (800) 722-5725 or visit its COVID-19 webpage.

More information also is available on KDE’s COVID-19 webpage.

Commissioner of Education

Commissioner of Education

Published: 6/30/2020 11:50 AM

Kevin C. Brown is interim commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE).

Brown has been serving as general counsel of the Jefferson County schools and the Jefferson County Board of Education. He previously was associate commissioner and general counsel at KDE. He served as interim commissioner of education in fall 2015.

Brown was an assistant attorney general from 2001 through 2004 under former Kentucky Attorney General A.B. Chandler III. He earned his bachelor’s degree from Transylvania University, where he was a William T. Young Scholar. In 2001, Brown received his law degree from the University of Kentucky College of Law.

Prior to law school, Brown was a staff assistant to then-U.S. Sen. Wendell H. Ford and a White House intern in 1997. In 2012, he was elected chair of the National Council of State Education Attorneys (NCOSEA). As chair of NCOSEA, he served as a member of the National Association of State Boards of Education Board of Directors. In 2018, Brown received the Douglas F. Bates Distinguished Service Award presented by NCOSEA.

Messages to Superintendents

Important Due Dates for Superintendents 2020

Reports to the Kentucky Board of Education

Loretta Johnson
Office of the Commissioner of Education
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-3141
Fax (502) 564-5680
Kevin Brown Picture



  • Normal Font Size