Commissioner of Education

Commissioner of Education

Published: 10/28/2019 3:02 PM

On April 17, 2018, the Kentucky Board of Education named Dr. Wayne D. Lewis Jr. the interim commissioner of education, and on October 3, 2018 named him Commissioner. Dr. Lewis has more than 15 years of experience in education. His resume includes experience in public school districts, postsecondary institutions, and in state government. He has worked as a classroom teacher, teacher educator, postsecondary faculty member and program administrator at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and as an executive administrator in state government. His education, training, and combination of experiences across the education continuum make him particularly well-suited to lead state-level education policy reform.

Prior to his appointment as Commissioner, Dr. Lewis served as an appointed advisor to the Kentucky Board of Education, the Education & Workforce Secretary's Designee on Kentucky's Early Childhood Advisory Council (ECAC), and chair of Kentucky's Charter Schools Advisory Council. His published research and writing over the last decade has been in the areas of education policy and politics, school-family-community engagement, and school choice. His research has been at the local, state, and national levels, and has been in American and international contexts.

Commissioner Lewis completed undergraduate studies at Loyola University New Orleans. He earned a master's degree in Urban Studies with a concentration in Public Administration at The University of Akron, completed a post-baccalaureate teacher preparation program in special education at The University of New Orleans, and earned a Ph.D. in Educational Research and Policy Analysis with a cognate in Public Administration at North Carolina State University.

Teresa Perry
Executive Assistant
Office of the Commissioner
Email Address:
Phone: (502) 564-3141

Teresa Perry
Office of the Commissioner of Education
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-3141
Fax (502) 564-5680
Commissioner of Education Wayne D. Lewis Jr.

​Dr. Wayne D. Lewis Jr.

Commissioner of Education

  • Normal Font Size