Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information

Learn what precautions you can take about the coronavirus.

Call the KY Department for Public Health’s COVID-19 hotline at (800) 722-5725 or visit its COVID-19 webpage.

More information also is available on KDE’s COVID-19 webpage.

Advisory Groups

Commissioner's Student Advisory Council

Published: 10/8/2020 3:31 PM

Purpose: The Commissioner's Student Advisory Council advises the Commissioner of Education on issues relevant to high school students.

In order to gain valuable feedback from Kentucky students and to engage student leaders in learning by doing, the commissioner created the Commissioner's Student Advisory Council. This group will meet with the commissioner and Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) staff, both in person and virtually, to discuss how decisions made at the state level are affecting students throughout Kentucky. The students will provide feedback on critical issues impacting students and schools and work with KDE staff to develop ideas to improve and transform education.

The Commissioner's Student Advisory Council is designed for Kentucky public school students in grades 10-12, including students from the Kentucky School for the Blind and Kentucky School for the Deaf. We encourage students to apply who represent the diverse academic, geographic, demographic and school-size variables particular to our state.

  • Two student members from each of the seven Kentucky Board of Education districts

  • Four at-large student members

  • One student from the Kentucky School for the Blind

  • One student from the Kentucky School for the Deaf

  • Student members enrolled in a career and technical education pathway

All student members are in grades 10-12 during the year of service on the council.

Meeting Frequency: 3-4 times per school year in Frankfort, plus virtual meetings   

Application: Click here to apply to be on the 2020-21 Commissioner's Student Advisory CouncilApplications must be submitted by May 15, 2020.

Program Contact: Donna Pace Melton,

Toni Konz Tatman
Chief Communications Officer
Office of the Commissioner
Division of Communications
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-2000 Ext. 4612
Fax (502) 564-3049 
  • Normal Font Size