Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information

Learn what precautions you can take about the coronavirus.

Call the KY Department for Public Health’s COVID-19 hotline at (800) 722-5725 or visit its COVID-19 webpage.

More information also is available on KDE’s COVID-19 webpage.

Advisory Groups

Read to Achieve Advisory Council

Published: 3/26/2020 12:18 PM

Purpose: ​ The Read to Achieve Steering Committee, also known as the Reading Diagnostic and Intervention Grant Steering Committee, as mandated by KRS 158.794, was abolished by Executive Order on June 2, 2017 and re-created as the Read to Achieve Advisory Council (RTA Council)  for the purpose of implementing and overseeing the Reading Diagnostic and Intervention Fund created by KRS 158.792.

Membership: The RTA Council is revised by Executive Order on July 13, 2018, to consist of nine (9) voting members and four (4) non-voting advisors. The Governor shall appoint voting members with extensive experience in reading and literacy as follows:

  • One (1) parent or member at-large;
  • One (1) elementary school teacher;
  • One (1) middle or high school teacher;
  • One (1) special education teacher;
  • One (1) gifted and talented teacher;
  • One (1) speech-language pathologist;
  • One (1) librarian or certified media specialist;
  • One (1) reading intervention teacher or administrator;
  • One (1) member with experience assisting deaf and hearing-impaired children.

One non-voting advisor of the RTA shall be designated by each of the following groups: 

  • the Department of Education;
  • the Collaborative Center for Literacy Development;
  • the Education Professional Standards Board;
  • the School Curriculum and Accountability Council.

Meeting Frequency: This group meets as needed at the discretion of the chair.

Whitney Hamilton
Office of Teaching and Learning
Division of Program Standards
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
(502) 564-2106, ext. 4135
Fax (502) 564-6470

  • Normal Font Size