Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information

Learn what precautions you can take about the coronavirus.

Call the KY Department for Public Health’s COVID-19 hotline at (800) 722-5725 or visit its COVID-19 webpage.

More information also is available on KDE’s COVID-19 webpage.


Advisory Groups

Published: 7/17/2020 2:57 PM

Advisory groups are charged with providing guidance and direction to the Kentucky Board of Education and Legislative Research Commission. These efforts include four groups charged with helping the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) build a better assessment and accountability system. The groups are comprised of educators and citizens, legislators, testing and measurement experts and legislative staff.

National Technical Advisory Panel on Assessment and Accountability (NTAPAA) 

The NTAPAA panel is  composed of no fewer than three professionals with a variety of expertise in education testing and measurement, and are appointed by the Legislative Research Commission. The panel shall advise the Commission and upon approval of the director of the Commission, the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) and the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE). 

Legislative Research Commission (LRC)

The Legislative Research Commission (LRC) makes appointments to the National Technical Advisory Panel on Assessment and Accountability. This group advises the legislature and KBE concerning technical aspects of assessment and accountability. The panel members are nationally recognized testing experts and most of the members have participated in evaluations of Kentucky's previous testing system. The Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) and the Kentucky Administrative Regulations (KAR) are searchable from the LRC site.

Education Assessment and Accountability Review Subcommittee (EAARS)

The Legislative Research Commission (LRC) appoints the Education Assessment and Accountability Review Subcommittee (EAARS) that advises KBE on the development of the assessment and accountability system, and will consider the regulations promulgated.

Office of Education Accountability (OEA)

The Office of Education Accountability (OEA) is charged with advising the Legislative Research Commission and the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) on the Kentucky School Testing System. Input and feedback from Kentucky citizens and educators on how to design a fair accountability system is both welcomed and valued. 

To read the minutes from these committees go to the LRC Search area, choose the Meeting Minutes tab, then search for the name, such as NTAPAA.

Rhonda Sims
Office of Assessment and Accountability
300 Sower Blvd., 5th Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-2256 Ext 4751
Fax (502) 564-7749

  • Normal Font Size